Transitioning to TBL

for a Transnational

Nursing Program

When faced with large class sizes, creating active learning within large lecture classes can be challenging, particularly with an audience used to more didactic and receptive learning approaches. In order to address this Team Based Learning is a useful tool to develop engagement, participation and application in such large classes. This session will outline the implementation of TBL in Transnational Nurse Education.

 

Learning Outcomes

 

By the end of this session, you will be able to:

 

  1. Outline Team Based Learning Principles

  2. Discuss Challenges faced in implementing TBL

  3. Evaluate outcomes of a TBL approach in a transnational nursing programme.

Date and Time

 

This workshop is offered on Thursday, 3 October 2019 at 10 AM Singapore / 12 PM Sydney Time. For those of you accessing this workshop from the US, this workshop will be held on Wednesday, 2 October 7:00 PM San Francisco / 10:00 PM New York Time.

Can't make it at this time or day? Let us know of your interest and we'll notify you if the workshop is repeated in the future: https://survey.zohopublic.com/zs/OABUxL


Cost
 

This workshop is free of cost.

Location

 

This workshop will be held online using Zoom Web Conference. More details on how to access the Zoom meeting room will be sent after registration. 

The Facilitator

Associate Professor Rob Burton is International Programme Director and International Lead in the School of Nursing and Midwifery, Griffith University, responsible for delivering a Bachelor of Nursing program in Singapore, as well as the School’s strategy for internationalization. Rob was previously a Principal Lecturer and International Director in a School of Human and Health Sciences in the UK, having led undergraduate nursing programmes, an MSc Health Professional Education, a Professional Doctorate in Human and Health Sciences,  and a transnational BSc Nursing in Malaysia. He is on the editorial board the Journal of Applied Learning and Teaching and co-editor and author of ‘Nursing: Transition to Professional Practice’ published by Oxford University Press in 2011. He has been using TBL in the BN programme for the last 2 years.

Can't make it at this time or day?

Let us know of your interest and we'll notify you if the workshop is repeated in the future: https://survey.zohopublic.com/zs/OABUxL