Introduction to 

Team-Based Learning

Description  

 

When educators make the decision to eliminate the lecture and adopt flipped or blended learning they are faced with what to replace it with, how to implement and measure results.   Team-based learning (“TBL”) provides an evidence-based methodology, a defined structure and data for evaluation.  TBL has been shown to improve outcomes and is aligned with 21st century skills.  This introductory workshop is designed to provide participants with enough understanding of TBL to decide if it is something they may want to try or learn more about.

Audience 

 

Educators interested in learning about TBL and experienced TBL educators interested in experiencing TBL in a synchronous online modality.

Format 

 

This workshop will be conducted using the TBL methodology in a synchronous onlinemodality.

 

Objectives

 

At the end of this session, participants should be able to:

1.Define the main components of TBL

2.Explain the benefits and considerations of TBL

3.Describe where to begin with designing a TBL course: backwards design and identifying resources

4.Experience TBL in an online synchronous modality

Dates and Times

 

This workshop will be held on Wednesday, 11 December 2019 at following timings: 

Singapore: 10 p.m. - 12 a.m.

Sydney: 1 a.m. - 3 a.m.

New York: 9 a.m. - 11 a.m.

London: 2 a.m. - 4 p.m. 

Cost
 

This workshop is free of cost.

Location

 

This workshop will be held online using Zoom Web Conference. More details on how to access the Zoom meeting room will be sent after registration. 

The Facilitator

Brian O'Dwyer is a TBL educator and entrepreneur. Having taught with TBL at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Singapore for 3 years, he now helps other educators set up their TBL courses through workshops and consulting services. Brian is also the founder of intedashboard.com, the world's leading software for TBL.

Can't make it at this time or day?

Let us know of your interest and we'll notify you if the workshop is repeated in the future: https://survey.zohopublic.com/zs/OABUxL