Designing

Effective Objectives

and Quality MCQs

Description  

 

This workshop is designed to introduce participants to the basics of writing higher order behavioural objectives and Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs)  following the National Board of Medical Examiner’s (NBME) guidelines.

 

At the end of this workshop, the participants will be able to:

  1. Critique and construct learning objectives using the ABCD model, at different levels of learning 

  2. Propose appropriate learning and assessment strategies for a given learning objective

  3. Identify if the objectives, learning and assessment strategies are SMART within a given context

  4. Critique a series of MCQs according to the NBME guidelines, identifying common flaws

Dates and Times

 

This workshop will be held on Tuesday, 23 July 2019 at 10:00 AM Singapore / 12:00 PM Sydney. For those of you in the United States, this workshop is on Monday, 22 July 2019 at 7:00 PM San Francisco / 10:00 PM New York time. 

Can't make it at this time or day? Let us know of your interest and we'll notify you if the workshop is repeated in the future: https://survey.zohopublic.com/zs/OABUxL

Cost
 

This workshop is free of cost.

Location

 

This workshop will be held online using Zoom Web Conference. More details on how to access the Zoom meeting room will be sent after registration. 

The Facilitator

Dr. Cook is the Deputy Head, Office of Education at Duke-National University of Singapore Medical School in Singapore. She also serves as the Deputy Director of the Academic Medicine Education Institute (AMEI). Most recently, she founded the Asia-Pacific chapter of the Team-Based Learning Collaborative. Dr. Cook is also involved with other medical education organizations such as the International Association of Medical Science Educators, Association of Medical Educators of Europe. In addition Dr. Cook serves on the editorial board for Medical Science Education Journal, the Proceedings of Singapore Health Care, and Annals, Academy of Medicine Singapore.

Can't make it at this time or day?

Let us know of your interest and we'll notify you if the workshop is repeated in the future: https://survey.zohopublic.com/zs/OABUxL